To review West Virginia’s code on obtaining a license to carry deadly weapons, please visit West Virginia Legislature’s site.
Applicants must apply in the county in which they reside. Applications are available for download below, or can be picked up at the courthouse in Charleston as well as our detachment locations in Chelyan, Cross Lanes, Elkview, Sissonville, and St Albans. Completed applications can only be returned to the Charleston office and cannot be accepted at the detachments.
After you have completed the application, you may mail or return the form to the Kanawha County Sheriff’s Tax Division along with the $75 non-refundable application fee, firearms certification form, a copy of the instructor’s NRA certification, and a copy of the applicant’s driver’s license or its equivalent with photo. Please see above link for more information on these requirements.
The mailing address is:
Kanawha County Sheriff’s Office
Pistol Permit Processing
409 Virginia St E, Room 120
Charleston, West Virginia, 25301
Once the application is received, it will be processed and available within 45 days. If it is not approved, you will be notified by US Mail. If the application is approved, the license will be available at the Kanawha County Sheriff’s Office – Tax Division. An additional fee of $25 is due at the time of issuance, which is sent to the State Police along with a copy of the approved application.